The ACM Special Interest Group in Operating Systems

News & Noteworthy

Nominations for the SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award

If your favorite operating system paper was published between 1 October 2008 and 30 September 2010, you can nominate it for the 2019 SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award. Nominations must be received on or prior to June 5, 2019, in any timezone. You may address questions and...

read more

ASPLOS Influential Paper 2019 Winner

Congratulations to: Emery D. Berger, Kathryn S. McKinley, Robert D. Blumofe, and Paul R. Wilson for winning this years ASPLOS Influential Paper Award for their paper Hoard: A Scalable Memory Allocator for Multithreaded Applications published in ASPLOS IX: Proceedings...

read more

SIGOPS Board elections

Are you ready for the upcoming SIGOPS board election? Please note that anyone who wants to vote in the April 30th election has to be an active member of SIGOPS on or before April 15th (the eligible voter cut-off date).

read more


SOSP ‘2019 Tutorials

Call for Tutorials The SOSP 2019 tutorials committee is soliciting proposals for half-day (three hours) tutorials.The SOSP 2019 tutorials session is a forum for leading work on all aspects of computer systems technology,...

read more

SoCC 2019 Student Scholarships

The 2019 Symposium on Cloud Computing (SoCC 2019) November 20-23, 2019 Santa Cruz, CA, USA The ACM Symposium on Cloud Computing 2019 (SoCC '19) is the tenth in an established series of symposia that bring together researchers,...

read more

SOSP 2019 submission site is open

We are now ready to receive your submissions for SOSP 2019 . Please view the complete Call for Papers and our website for details, including a list of topics of interest and submission instructions. We look forward to receiving your submissions!

read more

Recent Awards

The Mark Weiser Award 2018

The Mark Weiser Award was created in 2001 by ACM SIGOPS, to be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in operating systems research. The award is named in honor of Mark Weiser, a computing visionary recognized for his research...

read more

ASPLOS Most Influential Paper Award 2018

The ASPLOS Most Influential Paper Award for 2018 goes to the ASPLOS 2000 paper: OceanStore: an architecture for global-scale persistent storage. The authors are John Kubiatowicz, David Bindel, Yan Chen, Steven Czerwinski, Patrick Eaton, Dennis Geels, Ramakrishna Gummadi, Sean Rhea, Hakim Weatherspoon, Chris Wells, and Ben Zhao

read more