The Mark Weiser Award 2018

The Mark Weiser Award was created in 2001 by ACM SIGOPS, to be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in operating systems research. The award is named in honor of Mark Weiser, a computing visionary recognized for his research accomplishments during his career at Xerox PARC. The award committee consisted of Peter Druschel, Robbert Morris, and Jeff Dean.

The winner of the 2018 SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award is

Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau and
Remzi Arpaci-Dusseau

for outstanding leadership, innovation, and impact in storage and computer systems research.

The award was announced at the OSDI 2018 on Tuesday, October 9, 2018 in Carlsbad, CA, USA.