The Dennis M. Ritchie Thesis Award 2023

The Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award was created in 2013 by ACM SIGOPS to recognize research in software systems and to encourage the creativity that Dennis Ritchie embodied, providing a reminder of Ritchie’s legacy and what a difference one person can make in the field of software systems research. The Award committee for 2023 consists of Nickolai Zeldovich (Chair), Vijay Chidambaram, Robbert van Renesse.

The winner of the 2023 SIGOPS Dennis M. Ritchie Thesis Award is

Rishabh Iyer

for his dissertation
Latency Interfaces for Systems Code


advised by George Candea and Katerina Argyraki

Honorable Mention

Chang Lou

for his dissertation
Enhancing Cloud System Runtime to Address Complex Failures

at Johns Hopkins University

advised by Ryan (Peng) Huang