The Hall of Fame Award 2023

The SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award (HoF) was instituted in 2005 to recognize the most influential Operating Systems papers that were published at least ten years in the past. The 2023 selection committee consists of Mike Dahlin, Chandu Thekkath, and Amin Vahdat.

The 2023 SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award goes to

Paul Barham, Boris Dragovic, Keir Fraser, Steven Hand, Tim Harris, Alex Ho, Rolf Neugebauer†, Ian Pratt, Andrew Warfield.

University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory
∗ Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK
† Intel Research Cambridge, UK

For their paper

Xen and the Art of Virtualization

SOSP’03: Proceedings of the Nineteenth ACM Symposium on Operating Systems Principles.

The Xen paper played a significant role in advancing the field of virtualization by introducing multiple innovative techniques. Its contributions have had a major impact on the design and implementation of modern hypervisors and continue to shape the development of virtualization technologies in both research and industry

The Award Committee