PDF version of the CFP.

Important Dates

Workshop proposals dueDecember 7, 2012
Deadline to register abstractsMarch 21, 2013, 11:59 PM GMT
Submission deadline (HARD, NO EXTENSIONS)March 28, 2013, 11:59 PM GMT
Acceptance notificationJuly 1, 2013
WIP and poster abstracts dueAugust 20, 2013
Student travel scholarship applications deadlineAugust 23, 2013
Early registration deadlineSeptember 7, 2013
Camera-ready deadlineSeptember 15, 2013
Final version of accepted papers posted onlineOctober 3, 2013
ConferenceNovember 3-6, 2013


The 24th Symposium on Operating Systems Principles seeks to present exciting, original research related to the design, implementation, analysis, evaluation, and deployment of computer systems software. SOSP takes a broad view of the systems area and solicits contributions from many fields of systems practice, including, but not limited to, operating systems, file and storage systems, distributed systems, cloud systems, mobile systems, secure systems, embedded systems, dependable systems, system management, and virtualization.

We also welcome work that explores the interface to related areas such as computer architecture, networking, programming languages, and databases. In keeping with SOSP tradition, we will favor work that explores new territory, continues a significant research dialogue, or reflects on experience with or measurements of state of the art implementations. Papers of particular merit will be forwarded to ACM Transactions on Computer Systems for possible publication in a special issue. Submissions will be judged on originality, significance, clarity, relevance, and correctness. A good paper will:

  • consider a significant problem
  • propose an interesting
  • compelling solution,
  • demonstrate the practicality and benefits of the solution
  • draw appropriate conclusions
  • clearly describe what the authors have done
  • clearly articulate the advances beyond previous work

We encourage submission of ground breaking work in significant new directions, with the understanding that evaluation criteria for papers addressing new problems may be different from those continuing a line of work in a more established area.To facilitate technical discussion all accepted papers will be made available online one month before the conference. Submissions will be done electronically. Detailed instructions for the submission process will be posted. There will be a scholarship program to support student registration and attendance.

Submission Guidelines

Please click here to see the full submission guidelines.

Program Committee

David Andersen (CMU) Philip Levis (Stanford)
Herbert Bos (VU) Shan Lu (University of Wisconsin)
George Candea (EPFL) James Mickens (MSR)
Haibo Chen (Shanghai Jiao Tong University) Robert Morris (MIT)
Mike Dahlin (Google and UT Austin) John Ousterhout (Stanford)
Kevin Elphinstone (UNSW and NICTA) Robbert van Renesse (Cornell)
Bryan Ford (Yale) Timothy Roscoe (ETH Zurich)
Steven Hand (Cambridge) Mike Swift (University of Wisconsin)
Jon Howell (MSR) Michael Walfish (UT Austin)
Rebecca Isaacs (MSR) Helen Wang (MSR)
Anthony Joseph (UC Berkeley) John Wilkes (Google)
Sam King (UIUC) Nickolai Zeldovich (MIT)
Eddie Kohler (Harvard) Lidong Zhou (MSR Asia)
Arvind Krishnamurthy (University of Washington) Yuanyuan Zhou (UCSD)


General Chair Michael Kaminsky (Intel Labs)
PC Chair Mike Dahlin (Google and UT Austin)
Treasurer John MacCormick (Dickinson College)
Local Arrangements Babu Pillai (Intel Labs)
Sponsorships Chair Garth Gibson (CMU)
Sponsorships Co-Chair Michael Swift (UW Madison)
Publicity Chair Ramakrishna Kotla (MSR)
Workshop Chair Michael J. Freedman (Princeton)
Scholarship Chair Kimberly Keeton (HP Labs)
Registration ChairsHaibo Chen (Shanghai Jaio Tong University)
Li Zhuang (MSR Asia)
Poster Chairs Allen Clement (MPI-SWS)
Bryan Ford (Yale)
WIP Chair Emin Gün Sirer (Cornell)
BOF Chair Marcos Aguilera (MSR)
Printed Materials Editor Joan Digney (CMU)
Webmaster Wolfgang Richter (CMU)


Please direct any questions to sosp2013-general@nullacm.org

  • Platinum Sponsors

    • The Murty
      Family Foundation
  • Gold Sponsors

    • Apple
  • Silver Sponsors

  • Bronze Sponsors