2019 ACM Fellows and Distinguished Members

ACM fellowship recognizes the top 1% of ACM members for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to computing and information technology. 

Four current SIGOPS members have been named 2019 ACM Fellows:

  • Emery David Berger
    Professor of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
    For contributions in memory management and programming language implementation
  • Christian Cachin
    Professor of Computer Science, University of Bern, Switzerland
    For contributions to secure distributed computing and cryptographic protocols
  • Prashant J. Shenoy
    Professor of Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
    For contributions to the modeling and design of distributed systems
  • Lidong Zhou
    Distinguished Scientist and Assistant Managing Director, Microsoft Research Asia
    For contributions to trustworthy distributed computing and to systems research and education in China