The Mark Weiser Award 2020

The Mark Weiser Award was created in 2001 by ACM SIGOPS, to be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in operating systems research. The award is named in honor of Mark Weiser, a computing visionary recognized for his research accomplishments during his career at Xerox PARC. The award committee for 2020 consisted of Robert Morris, Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, and YY Zhou.

The winner of the 2020 SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award is
Jason Flinn

Jason Flinn

From the nominations letters:

"a stellar researcher in OS"

“overturned conventional wisdom, which had been held … for decades”

"papers are simply a joy to read"

"can't think of anyone more deserving to receive this year's ACM SIGOPS Mark Weiser award"

The award was announced on Tuesday, November 5th, in the ACM SIGOPS Award Ceremony at OSDI 2020.