HotOS 2019

Call For Papers

The 17th Workshop on Hot Topics in Operating Systems (HOTOS)

12-15 May 2019, Bertinoro, Italy

Important Dates

Paper submissions due:Thursday Jan 17, 2019 11:59 p.m. GMT/UTC
Notification to authors: Mar 11, 2019
Revised papers due: April 8, 2019
Workshop date: May 12 — 15, 2019


The 17th Workshop on Hot Topics in Operating Systems will bring together researchers and practitioners in computer systems to engage in a lively discussion on the principles and practices of building systems software. Continuing the HotOS tradition, participants will present new ideas and debate future research agendas in systems research.

We solicit position papers that propose new directions of systems research, advocate innovative approaches to long-standing problems, or report on deep insights gained from experience with real-world systems. We seek early-stage work, where the authors can benefit from community feedback. An ideal submission has the potential to open a line of inquiry for the community that results in multiple conference papers in related venues, rather than a single follow-on conference paper. The program committee will explicitly favor early work and papers likely to stimulate reflection and discussion over mature ideas on the verge of conference publication.

HotOS takes a broad view of systems research. This includes operating systems, storage, distributed systems, mobile and embedded systems, virtualization, programming languages, networking, security, dependability, and manageability, as well as new systems contributions influenced by other fields such as hardware design, machine learning, verification, economics, social organization, and biological or other nontraditional computing systems.

To ensure a vigorous workshop, attendance is by invitation only. Authors will be invited based on their submission’s originality, topical relevance, technical merit, and likelihood of leading to insightful technical discussions that will influence future systems research.

Paper Submission Instructions

Position papers must be received by the paper submission deadline mentioned above. This is a hard deadline, and no extensions will be granted.

Submissions must be no longer than 5 pages including figures and tables, plus as many pages as needed for references. Text should be formatted in two columns on 8.5 x 11-inch paper using 10-point Times-Roman font on 12-point (single-spaced) leading, 1-inch margins, and a 0.25-inch gutter (separation between the columns). The title, author names, affiliations, and an abstract should appear on the first page. Pages should be numbered. Figures and tables should not require magnification for viewing; they may contain color, but should be legible when printed or displayed in black and white. Submissions not meeting these criteria will be rejected without review, and no deadline extensions will be granted for reformatting. Papers should be submitted as PDF files via the web submission form.

You can find the latex style file for HotOS’19 at:
And an example .tex file using it at:

Revised versions of all accepted papers will be available online to registered attendees before the workshop. After the workshop, accepted papers will be made available on the workshop site, along with slides of the presentation, and a summary of the discussion at the workshop. Simultaneous submission of the same work to multiple venues, submission of previously published work, or plagiarism constitutes dishonesty or fraud. ACM, like other scientific and technical conferences and journals, prohibits these practices and may take action against authors who have committee them. See the ACM plagiarism policy and procedures for details.

Program Committee

  • Marcos Aguilera    VMware Research
  • Sebastian Angel   University of Pennsylvania
  • Michael Isard       Google
  • Brad Karp            University of College London
  • Eddie Kohler        Harvard
  • Amit Levy            Princeton
  • Jay Lorch            Microsoft Research
  • Shan Lu              University of Chicago
  • Robert Morris      MIT
  • Margo Seltzer     University of British Columbia
  • Xi Wang             University of Washington
  • Yiying Zhang      Purdue University