The Mark Weiser Award 2019

The Mark Weiser Award was created in 2001 by ACM SIGOPS, to be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in operating systems research. The award is named in honor of Mark Weiser, a computing visionary recognized for his research accomplishments during his career at Xerox PARC. The award committee consisted of Jeff Dean,  Robert Morris, and Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau.

The winner of the 2019 SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award is

Ion Stoica

From the nominations letters:

"incredibly innovative, technically deep, and impactful"

“contributions have been both prolific and profound”

“the sum total of insight [of a certain body of work] far exceeds that produced by anyone else in the field”

“can’t think of a more deserving candidate for the Weiser award”

The award was announced Tuesday, October 29, 2019 at the SOSP 2019 banquet and awards session.