The Dennis M. Ritchie Thesis Award 2021

The Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award was created in 2013 by ACM SIGOPS to recognize research in software systems and to encourage the creativity that Dennis Ritchie embodied, providing a reminder of Ritchie’s legacy and what a difference one person can make in the field of software systems research.

The Award committee for 2021 consists of Emery Berger, Angela Demke Brown, and Arvind Krishnamurthy.

The 2021 Dennis M. Ritchie Award winner is
Marios Kogias

for his dissertation

Operating System and Network Co-design for Latency-Critical Datacenter Applications

EPFL, Switzerland
advised by Edouard Bugnion

From the nomination letters

"The thesis combines the rigorous scientific methodology associated with computer systems research (including the focus on principles and abstraction) with an unusually extensive (and meaningful) use of mathematical methods, in particular queuing theory and statistical tests build into the tools and systems."

"This is an instance of a 'multiple thesis in one' thesis, not a 'multiple papers stabled in a thesis'"

"It is an excellent illustration of how a scholar should approach a research topic, carefully analyze the problem, and make contributions across analysis tools, system design, and overall applications."

Honorable Mentions

Oana Balmau
at the University of Sydney
for her dissertation:

Redesigning Persistent Key-Value Stores for Future Workloads, Hardware, and Performance Requirements

Advised by Willy Zwaenepoel


Xingda Wei
at Shanghai Jiao Tong University
for his dissertation

Fast Distributed Transaction Processing using RDMA and NVM

Advised by Binyu Zang, Rong Chen, and Haibo Chen



The awards were announced Wednesday, October 27 2021 in the ACM SIGOPS Award Ceremony at SOSP 2021.