The Dennis M. Ritchie Thesis Award 2022

The Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award was created in 2013 by ACM SIGOPS to recognize research in software systems and to encourage the creativity that Dennis Ritchie embodied, providing a reminder of Ritchie’s legacy and what a difference one person can make in the field of software systems research. The Award committee for 2022 consists of Irene Zhang (chair), James Bornholt, Haibo Chen, and Alain Tchana.

The winner of the 2022 SIGOPS Dennis M. Ritchie Thesis Award is

Yongle Zhang

for his dissertation
Automating Failure Diagnosis for Distributed Systems

University of Toronto

advised by Ding Yuan

Honorable Mentions

Tej Chajed

for his dissertation
Verifying a concurrent, crash-safe file system with sequential reasoning
advised by Frans Kaashoek and Nickolai Zeldovich

Akshitha Sriraman

for her dissertation
Enabling Hyperscale Web Services
University of Michigan
advised by Thomas Wenisch

The award was announced Tuesday, November 1st on the ACM SIGOPS website.