The Hall of Fame Award 2022

The SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award (HoF) was instituted in 2005 to recognize the most influential Operating Systems papers that were published at least ten years in the past. The 2022 selection committee consists of Gernot Heiser, Chandu Thekkath, and Amin Vahdat.

The following paper was selected.

The 2022 SIGOPS Hall of Fame Award goes to

James C. Corbett, Jeffrey Dean, Michael Epstein, Andrew Fikes, Christopher Frost, JJ Furman, Sanjay Ghemawat, Andrey Gubarev, Christopher Heiser, Peter Hochschild, Wilson Hsieh, Sebastian Kanthak, Eugene Kogan, Hongyi Li, Alexander Lloyd, Sergey Melnik, David Mwaura, David Nagle, Sean Quinlan, Rajesh Rao, Lindsay Rolig, Yasushi Saito, Michal Szymaniak, Christopher Taylor, Ruth Wang, and Dale Woodford, Google, Inc.

For their paper

Spanner: Google’s Globally-Distributed Database

OSDI’12: Proceedings of the 10th USENIX conference on Operating systems design and implementation.

Spanner showed how to balance the requirements of consistency, availability, and partition tolerance for a globally replicated transactional database system. In doing so, Spanner simplified the implementation of a range of higher level services which could then scale across the planet through a familiar and powerful transactional API. The key insights of leveraging clock synchronization using TrueTime and a dedicated, redundant, high-capacity datacenter WAN distinct from the public Internet as the basis for scaling remain fundamental design patterns today.

The Award Committee

The award was announced Tuesday, November 1st on the ACM SIGOPS web site.