The Dennis M. Ritchie Award 2017

The Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award was created in 2013 by ACM SIGOPS to recognize research in software systems and to encourage the creativity that Dennis Ritchie embodied, providing a reminder of Ritchie’s legacy and what a difference one person can make in the field of software systems research.

The award committee consisted of Emery Berger, Jay Lorch, and Robbert van Renesse.

The 2017 Dennis M. Ritchie Award winner is

Haogang Chen

For his dissertation

Certifying a Crash-Safe File System

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
advised by
Frans Kaashoek and Nickolai Zeldovich

Hao's work is representative of the best the system community can offer, blending deep conceptual insight with hardcore systems building and evaluation.

Emery Berger, Jay Lorch, and Robbert van Renesse

The award was announced at the SOSP 2017 banquet and awards session on Monday, October 30, 2017 in Shanghai, China.