The Mark Weiser Award 2017

The Mark Weiser Award was created in 2001 by ACM SIGOPS, to be given to an individual who has demonstrated creativity and innovation in operating systems research. The award is named in honor of Mark Weiser, a computing visionary recognized for his research accomplishments during his career at Xerox PARC.

The award committee consisted of Margo Seltzer, Peter Druschel, and Jeff Dean.

The winner of the 2017 SIGOPS Mark Weiser Award is

Nickolai Zeldovich

The award was announced at the SOSP 2017 banquet and awards session on Monday, October 30, 2017, in Shanghai, China.